Administrative Officers


Dan Seador

Mr. Seador joined Aetna in 1980 and has served as the President of the fire company since 2017. Dan previously served as Vice President, Director, Assistant Chief and Deputy Chief. During his time with Aetna Hose, Hook & Ladder Company, Dan has coordinated a number of strategic initiatives including the needs assessment and construction of our Glasgow station. Dan holds a Bachelor’s degree from the University of Delaware and also attended Ohio University for Communications Management. After 33 years of service with the Emergency Medical Services Division of the New Castle County Department of Public Safety, he retired in 2015 at the rank of Assistant Chief of Emergency Medical Services.


Tim Harris

Mr. Harris has been a member of Aetna since 1987 and has served as Director since 2017. He previously has served as Secretary and Ambulance Lieutenant. He continues to be active on Aetna’s ambulances and has served on the same ambulance duty crew for over 30 years. He is a graduate of Michigan Technological University with a B.S. in Social Sciences and was commissioned into the US Army after graduation. After graduation he held leadership and staff positions while assigned to an armor battalion in the US Army Europe. Following active duty, he held staff positions while assigned to an Army Reserve unit. He was employed by MBNA/Bank of America in positions in Security, Collections, and Credit Acquisition. Following a corporate merger, he left banking and worked for the Claymont Fire Company as a Firefighter/Emergency Medical Technician and later as Career Staff Supervisor before retiring in 2019. He holds certifications as National Registered Emergency Medical Technician, Delaware Emergency Medical Technician, Fire Officer II, Confined Space Rescue Technician, Rope Rescue Technician and is an instructor for the Delaware State Fire School. He and his wife Irene live in Newark with their three working search dogs.


Paul McCloskey

Mr. McCloskey joined Aetna in 1981. Previous positions include Ambulance Lt. and pump operator. Current responsibilities as a Board of Director are Historic research and preservation, document archiving, IT Committee, and company website. Paul is also one of the company photographers. Outside of Aetna, Paul is a Sr Fraud Investigator for BNY Mellon.


Gene Niland

Mr. Niland began his fire service career in 1965 in Avondale, PA and joined Aetna in 1977. He has served on the board for much of the last twenty years and currently chairs the Human Resources and Insurance Committees. He has also served as a lieutenant and EMS Deputy and coordinated truck company operations training for nearly 27 years. An army veteran, Gene retired as a Facility manager for Hewlett Packard and currently enjoys time with his five grandchildren.


Erin Browne

Ms. Browne has been a member of Aetna since 1999 and has served on the Board of Directors since February 2020. She is currently responsible for bylaws and policy development. Erin has a Bachelor of Science from the University of Delaware and has worked full time in local law enforcement since 2004 where she currently serves as a Sergeant. Erin also actively rides at Aetna and holds numerous public safety certifications including NFPA Firefighter II, Officer I, NREMT. She is also a DE COPT Certified Instructor and graduate of the NJSACOP Command and Leadership program.


Frank Richardson

Frank began his fire service career in 1962 at the Minquas Fire Company in Newport where he served as Captain and Assistant Chief. He joined Aetna in 1973 and has served as an Assistant Chief and on the Board of Directors. He was a firefighter with the Fairfax County (VA) Fire and Rescue Service and Secretary of Local 2068 of the International Association of Fire Fighters.

Frank has been an instructor for the state fire schools of Delaware, Pennsylvania and Virginia. Additional positions include: Senior Instructor, Delaware State Fire School; Director, Montgomery County (PA) Fire Academy; Department Chair and Instructor, Fire Protection Engineering and Safety Management Technologies, Del Tech; Professor of Fire Service Administration, Utah Fire and Rescue Academy of Utah Valley University; Training Specialist, National Fire Academy.

Frank’s education includes an AAS, Fire Science (Northern Virginia); BA English (UD); MS, Public Safety Administration (St. Joseph’s University); PhD, Public Policy (UD). Frank holds a Certificate in Specialized Training in Emergency Services from the International Critical Incident Stress Foundation and was a member of the South Central (PA) Critical Incident Stress Management Team. He also has a US Coast Guard Merchant Marine Officers license for sail and power vessels of 50 tons. He is a member of the sailing crew and educator on the Kalmar Nyckel, The Tall Ship of Delaware.

Frank served as a grunt and field medic with Echo RECON, 1st/7th, 1st Cavalry Division (Airmobile) in the Republic of Vietnam and worked as a medic in the emergency room of the Kimbrough Army Hospital. Frank travels (17 countries, 50 states), hikes the Western mountains and deserts, and sails the bays of Maryland and Maine.


Andrew Cavanaugh

Mr. Cavanaugh has been a member of Aetna since 2005 and was elected to the Board of Directors in 2020. He is currently Chairs the Health and Wellness Committee and Co-Chairs the Departments College Live In program. He also serves a Training Captain for Aetna. Andrew has also held the positions of Deputy Chief, Assistant Chief, Engine Captain and Safety Officer during his time at Aetna. Andrew has a Bachelor of Science in Public Safety Administration from Neumann University. Mr. Cavanaugh also holds numerous public safety certifications including Fire Officer II, Instructor II, Confined Space Rescue Tech l/ll, Rope Rescue Tech I/II, Vehicle Rescue Tech I/II and Incident Safety Officer. Andrew is a Captain with the Wilmington Fire Department and is currently assigned to Ladder 1. During his career in Wilmington, he has held numerous leadership positions including the departments executive officer and as a training and safety officer.


Ewonnu Campbell


Steve Debold


Dominic Santos


Melissa Weyl



Thomas Shipman


Sam Palermo

Sam is currently a Life Member, joining Aetna in 1977, after 13 years with Minquas in Newport [Sta. 23]. He has been an active member since joining, holding the office of Assistant Chief [78-B] from 2001 until 2006 and Fire recorder since 2007. Sam also served on the By-laws committee and Review Board. Sam has conducted probationary training and helped revise the Aetna probie manual.

Currently, Sam is a haz mat instructor at the DSFS, since 1973 and currently operates with both the county decon team and the county haz mat team. He is also an engine driver and operates out of Station 7. Sam designed the "Junkyard Dog" patch and wall logo at Station 7.


Jeff Sands

Deputy Chief Sands has been a member of the Aetna Hose, Hook and Ladder Company since 2011. He previously held the position of Captain for 3 years and Assistant Chief for 3 years. He has completed a wide variety of training in fire suppression and rescue including Firefighter I and II, Fire Instructor I, Swiftwater Rescue Technician I, Advanced Vehicle Rescue, Blue Card Incident Command, National Fire Academy Safety Officer, and Fire Officer I. Jeff has an extensive EMS background and is a past coordinator of the University of Delaware Emergency Care Unit (UDECU). He has been an EMT since 2008 and is a Field Training Officer. Jeff previously worked as a Sergeant for St. Francis EMS in Wilmington and as a career firefighter/EMT with the Mill Creek Fire Company and then the Christiana Fire Company. He currently works in emergency management. Deputy Sands also acts as our Operational Public Information Officer.